Friday, December 13, 2019

A message from the CAPE Council

A message from the CAPE Council

 California Council for Excellence

For information contact:

Megan O’Keefe

(858) 486-0400





ORANGE, Calif. (Dec. 15, 2016) – The California Council for Excellence (CCE) today named five organizations as the 2016 recipients of the California Awards for Performance Excellence (CAPE) Eureka Award for Performance Excellence. The honorees are recognized based on the Baldrige Framework for Performance Excellence for their outstanding commitment to sustainable excellence through innovation, continuous improvement, and visionary leadership.

The 2016 Eureka Award recipients are:

Gold Level

Stellar Solutions, Inc., Palo Alto, Calif. (small business)

Silver Level

Adventist Health Central Valley Network, Hanford, Calif. (health care)

AltaMed Health Services, Los Angeles, Calif. (health care)


Kindred Nursing and Rehabilitation: Golden Gate, San Francisco, Calif. (health care)

Sonora Regional Medical Center, Sonora, Calif. (health care)

“I am honored to congratulate these organizations as CAPE Eureka Award recipients. The Baldrige Framework is not just a criteria booklet; it is a way of thinking and culture that these five companies have successfully adopted and leverage to improve themselves as well as the workforce and customers they serve,” said CAPE Council Chair and CCE Board member, Alice Fan.

Overseen by CCE, the CAPE program manages the awards process which adheres to the Baldrige Framework for Performance Excellence. The Eureka applicants were evaluated by teams comprised of the 2016 CAPE Board of Examiners. The rigorous evaluation process takes more than three months, including a weeklong site visit, and covers the applicants’ performance in seven areas defined by the Baldrige Framework: leadership; strategy; customers; measurement, analysis and knowledge management; workforce; operations; and results. The Eureka application evaluation is overseen by the CAPE Board of Judges to ensure the integrity of the process and to recommend recognition levels to CCE’s Board of Directors for ratification.

The CAPE Eureka Award process is modeled after that of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. The national Baldrige Performance Excellence Program raises awareness about the importance of performance excellence in driving the U.S. and global economy; provides organizational assessments, training, tools and criteria; educates leaders in businesses, schools, health care organizations, and government and nonprofit organizations; shares the best practices of national role models; and recognizes those role models with the Baldrige Award.

The 2016 Eureka Awards will be presented during CCE’s Best Practices and Awards Conference on March 23, 2017 at the Hyatt Regency Long Beach. This one-day event features presentations from CAPE award recipients in which they share lessons learned and best practices identified through their journey to excellence.

Founded in 1992, the California Council for Excellence is a nonprofit educational foundation dedicated to helping California-based organizations achieve world-class results though the principles of the Baldrige Excellence Framework. CCE also administers the California Team Excellence Awards (CTEA) program, which recognizes process management, innovation and problem-solving skills through organized work teams.


Posted in: CAPE Program

                                                              Join our mailing list to receive free CCE updates!   Sign Up Now   


Home   |   About CCE   |   Ethics   |   Events   |   CAPE Program   |   News Archives

p: (858) 486-0400 | | 655 S. Main Street, Suite 200 #364, Orange, CA 92868


California Council for Excellence